*The district lines on this map are approximated.  Please refer to the list of churches below for exact district boundary information.

Meet District 1

Northern /Peninsula and the Upper Peninsula

District encompasses 53 United Methodist churches and 13 multi-point charges.  The new district includes congregations from the existing Grand Traverse and Marquette districts.   Still to be determined is the name of the new district and the location of the district office.  If you have a name idea for this district and/or other districts, please share that with your current District Superintendent.  The new district will be operational on July 1, 2018.

List of Churches/Charges

• Bark River, Hermansville: First
• Bergland, Ewen, Wakefield
• Cheboygan: St. Paul’s
• Crystal Falls: Christ, Amasa: Grace
• Escanaba: Central
• Escanaba: First
• Gladstone: Memorial
• God’s Country Cooperative Parish: Grand Marais, Germfask, McMillan, Newberry, Engadine, Paradise,
Hulbert: Tahquamenon
• Gwinn
• Hancock: First
• Houghton: Grace
• Iron Mountain: First, Quinnesec
• Iron Mountain: Trinity
• Ironwood: Wesley, White Pine
• Ishpeming: Wesley
• Keweenaw Parish: Calumet, Mohawk-Ahmeek, Lake Linden,
• L’Anse, Sidnaw, Zeba
• Mackinaw City: Church Of The Straits
• Manistique: First
• Marquette: Hope
• Menominee: First
• Munising, Trenary
• Negaunee: Mitchell
• New Hope of Emmett County
• Norway: Grace, Faithorn
• Ontonagon, Greenland, Rockland: St. Paul
• Painesdale: A. Paine Memorial
• Pickford
• Republic, Woodland
• St. Ignace
• Sault Ste. Marie: Central, Algonquin
• Stephenson